My Friend Bud

I will forever see myself as having been a truly fortunate kid, because we always had dogs in the family…including a precious border collie cross springer spaniel called Sally.

In her later years, she would take herself off to one of our neighbours house where she’d settle herself down by the fire, and be fed Weetabix by the tolerant old lady who lived there.

However, when my dad would whistle from the back door, she’d hurry home for dinner. I can still remember her floppy spaniel ears waving in the wind as she trotted down the back lane. So obedient she was, so beautifully loyal.

But she was sick towards the end, her body riddled with cancerous tumours, which I could feel when I’d bury my bare feet in her long fur at nighttime, when we were sat in front of the fire. I can recall her last day, how I fed her some of my Snickers ice cream bar. It was hard to look into those hazel eyes while she wolfed down the cold treat.

Yesterday I saw Sally again in the eyes of Bud, a friend’s one year old border collie. Intelligence, loyalty, happiness – his eyes and sublime face brought back what I’d lost when I parted ways with Sally.

For the few hours I was sat in my friend’s living room, I felt a calmness like I haven’t been capable of feeling in a long time. My anxiety was thousands of miles away, and all I was in possession of was joy of the very purest kind. I daydream about when the man and I can bring a dog into the family…I day dream about the genuine joy it will infuse our lives with.

b6

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”
― Josh Billings

b2

“Dogs are minor angels, and I don’t mean that facetiously. They love unconditionally, forgive immediately, are the truest of friends, willing to do anything that makes us happy, etcetera. If we attributed some of those qualities to a person we would say they are special. If they had ALL of them, we would call them angelic. But because it’s “only” a dog, we dismiss them as sweet or funny but little more. However when you think about it, what are the things that we most like in another human being? Many times those qualities are seen in our dogs every single day– we’re just so used to them that we pay no attention.”
― Jonathan Carroll

b4

“The better I get to know men, the more I find myself loving dogs.”
― Charles de Gaulle

b1

“I believe in integrity. Dogs have it. Humans are sometimes lacking it.”
― Cesar Millan

b3

 

One thought on “My Friend Bud

Leave a Reply

