Smelling Like The Sweetest Summer Air With Body Shop Vanilla Body Mist

Back in 2014 I resided briefly in Oslo. It was mid-summer when I ran out of anti-antiperspirant spray which I’d tagged along with me from England. While you might be thinking to yourself ‘Yeah, so? What’s the big deal?’ I was, at the time, blissfully unaware that I wouldn’t be able to purchase spray deodorant in my new homeland.

I skipped into town, expecting to be smelling divine again within the hour…but instead ended up scaling the walls in my search for some Nivea or Sure. The only deodorant I was able to get my hands on were roll-ons.

As a last resort, I ended up in The Body Shop. I entered with some trepidation, as my meagre budget didn’t really stretch to account for anything too nice. In my world, purchases from The Body Shop had always been reserved for special occasions and almost always consisted of animal shaped soaps.

But I was about to have my beliefs turned inside out…

636337222329080529_Afterlight_Edit

As is tradition in The Body Shop, a member of staff immediately approached me, and promptly introduced to their range of Body Mists. I spritzed every tester available, going back to numerous ones several times.

Noticing that the Body Mists were actually affordable – I think I paid £8 then or about 80 kroner for one bottle of Body Mist  – I was committed and went home with a bottle of Shea Body Mist. I’d been seduced by its sweet – but not overpowering – nuttiness.

636337220986199835_Afterlight_Edit636337220358111042_Afterlight_Edit

I’ve been using The Body Shop Body Mist range ever since, and since 2014 have used only 5 100ml bottles. Whereas before I was getting through one bottle of spray deodorant a month, one bottle of Body Shop Body Mist can last me over 6 months. I generally use 6 spritzes a day, maybe 10-12 if I’m going out or doing something special.

This time I opted for the vanilla scent – it makes the man weak at the knees – as it’s the perfect fragrance for these lengthy summer days.

3

The Pros

  • The glass packaging – most reviews speak negatively about the glass bottle packaging, but I feel the need to defend it. I don’t really ‘do’ classy… but something in me wants to show off this gorgeous bottle, plus, the transparency enables me to see how much product I have left, something you’re usually left guessing with. I’ve taken my bottles with me on dozens of flights and so long as you aren’t throwing your bag around, it can survive without shattering.
  • The ingredients – The man and I are trying for a baby, so I feel more responsible for what I’m using on my body. In the not so distant future I’d like to be using only all-natural products. So I’m chuffed all round that the Body Mist contains natural ingredients, including Vanilla Planifolia Fruit Extract.
  • The fragrance – As I mentioned before, I bought vanilla because the man loves it and I sort of wanted to treat him, but I too have a weakness for vanilla scented everything. The Body Mist has quite a strong scent of pure vanilla, so you really only need half a dozen spritzes to last you for up to six hours. Any more than that and you might be slightly overpowered by the scent, and feel the mad urge to devour your own skin. It’s an uplifting fragrance that leaves you feeling prepared to face the day.
  • It doesn’t stain – One of the main problems I have had with spray deodorants is they stains they can leave behind on my black threads. When I started using the Bod Mist that problem became one of the past.
  • It lasts ages – If you are using it like I’ve advised, you’ll only need to buy two bottles maximum a year. That’s £16 (or 160 krona). Can’t go wrong really. I’ve actually been thinking of investing in another scent so I can have a sensual vanilla one day and a more jubilant strawberry on another.
  • The amount you get – With each bottle you get 100ml which is just perfect if you’re a frequent flyer as 100ml is the maximum amount of liquid you can have in a single container in your carry on luggage.
  • The shelf life – you get 3 years with one bottle!
  • No animal testing – The Body Shop are forever against animal testing. (They were actually the first global beauty brand to fight against animal testing in cosmetics.)

The Cons

  • The lid – The lid is quite treacherously loose. Don’t do as I have done before I picked it up by the lid alone…
  • It can burn – If you have spots or slightly damaged skin, avoid, like you would with other deodorants, putting the Body Mist on those areas.

Now that I’ve had the Vanilla Body Mist a couple of times, I’ve made a vow to myself to be more experimental…I’m eying up you Black Musk ,and you Strawberry, and you Moringa.

 

Leave a Reply

